Mock Ezekiel Bread?


Mock Ezekiel bread

My mock Ezekiel bread

Ezekiel bread is one of the staples in a new popular 21-day diet.  One slice, toasted, is supposed to sustain a person all morning. Add avocado spread and some veggies and it provides all the nutrients you need. But does it fill you up?

I read that the prophet Ezekiel in the Bible lived on this type of bread for two years in the desert.  God told him to “take wheat, and barley, and beans, and lentils and millet, and spelt and put them in one vessel….” (Ezekiel 4:9) It had to be sustaining and nutritious.

Benefits of Ezekiel Bread

Reports show this type of bread has 84% protein because of the grains and beans supplying all the amino acids needed for the body. It has no sugar, preservatives, artificial flavors, or animal products. Add some seeds to it, and it becomes one of the healthiest foods one can eat with vitamins and fiber to boot. Plus, it satisfies your craving for bread. Not only that, it makes a pretty good sandwich too.

Making the Bread

Because of its popularity as a health food, it can be found in many health food stores. But I am one who likes to make my food. I like the adventure of creation, plus the benefit of knowing what’s going into it! For the purest baker, sprouted grains of all these varieties must be obtained. Finding them on the market was a little more than I could handle. Plus, I don’t own a flour mill. I looked to the reliable internet to find a recipe I could use. Allrecipes.com gives a great recipe using already-made flours, pinto beans, Northern beans, and kidney beans as well as honey to sweeten.  But again, you have to have a flour mill to grind the dry beans.

My Experiment

Ezekiel bread withi avocado topping

Toasted bread with avocado spread, cucumbers & sweet red pepper

With a little experimenting, I came up with a tasty and hardy bread that is equal in nutrition. I started out with one cup of dry beans from  Hurst’s® HamBeens® 15 Bean Soup®. This included pinto beans, lima beans, kidney beans, and twelve other kinds. Putting them in my lowly blender with a little water, I crushed them to little tiny pieces. Then I added half a can of black-eyed peas, whole grain wheat flour, oatmeal, and molasses for sweetener. For more protein, I threw in half of a cup of sunflower seeds, some chia and hemp seeds. Sounded healthy to me. I used two packages of dry yeast, mixed it together with a cup of scalded milk and let it raise, and then put it into pans. Since it is more of a batter bread, I didn’t knead it. Perhaps I should have. It didn’t raise too much the second time. Maybe I didn’t wait long enough. It baked well and you can’t taste any beans, nor are they crunchy. It tastes wonderful – especially when toasted – just like a hardy brown seeded bread.  I forgot to add any oil, however, and next time I would probably add some applesauce (to replace the oil).

My recipe is below should you want to experiment for yourself! Let me know if you have more success and what you may do differently.

Mock Ezekiel Bread – Candy’s Version

  • 1/3 bag of Hurst’s® HamBeens® 15 Bean Soup®
  • 1/2 can of black-eyed peas
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 T. chia seeds
  • 1 T. hemp seeds
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 2 T. salt
  • 3/4 c. molasses or honey
  • 2 pkg. dry yeast
  • 1 cup scalded milk
  • 2 c. whole grain wheat flour
  • 1-2 c. white flour
  • 1/2 c. applesauce
  1. Put the dry beans in a blender or grinder with 1/2 cup water and grind as fine as possible
  2. Add the 1/2 can of black-eyed peas and blend together
  3. Put the yeast in a bowl and dissolve in 1/2 cup very warm water.
  4. Transfer bean mixture to the bowl after yeast is dissolved (about 10 minutes)
  5. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix together. This will be a soft batter-like dough.

Allow mixture to rise (about 1-2 hours). Punch down and place in bread pans. Allow to rise again and bake at 350 degrees until done.

Yield: 2 loaves

 

