Fresh Summer Salad with a Mediterranian Flair


TabboulehI found a new fresh salad I fell in love with this summer. Using fresh cucumbers, tomatoes, and green peppers right from my garden made it an instant hit. Fresh parsley and mint add to its wonderful flavor.

Whether you call it kisir (A Turkish variation), eetch (Armenia), or tabouli (Middle East- Israel)– it’s good. Lebanese introduced the dish n Cyprus, where it is known as tabouli, meaning “seasonings.”

Tabouli is a traditional Mideast side dish made of mostly finely chopped parsley, a bit of mint, bulgur, tomatoes and onion, and seasoned with olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. Some variations add garlic or lettuce, or use couscous or quinoa instead of bulgur.

As with all herbs, be sure to wash and thoroughly dry the parsley and mint before chopping as wet herbs will turn to mush when chopped.  Since tabouli  is so much about the herbs, this is especially critical here.  I like to give the herbs a medium chop  — not too fine and not too rough.

I must have gotten my recipe mixed up. Instead of soaking in boiling water, I soaked my bulgur in lime juice, a little water, and lots of garlic pepper & garlic salt. No boiling water at all. It came out crunchy and chewy with a nice nutty flavor.

Didn’t have fresh parsley, so I used dried. Think next time I will opt for the fresh – but also thought of putting a little cilantro in the dish, and want to try mint. Some have added allspice, although this is less common. I prefer the garlic flavor with lime juice.

I added finely chopped green pepper to the mixture. Think red bell peppers may be great-tasting too.  The beauty (and it is a colorful dish) of this salad is that it is so versatile.

For a step-by-step recipe of how to make this wonderful salad, check out thekitchn.com.

