Rhubarb-Blackberry Cake


 

I amWP_20150707_12_47_41_Pro really looking forward to making this cake again this year. My blackberries are loaded, but my rhubarb has done diddly-squat. Not sure why.  I may have to break down and buy some frozen rhubarb from the store when the blackberries ripen because this cake is toooooo good.

I was introduced to fresh rhubarb cake when I visited my hometown of Clark, South Dakota.

THINKING OF RHUBARB….

My sister-in-law, Marivonne Woodland - age 80 - July 2015Marivonne, now in her eighties and still a wonderful cook and baker, insisted on making a rhubarb cake when I commented on all the rhubarb in her backyard. Rhubarb custard pies are the best, and my mother made a delicious rhubarb sauce. I remember as a child, we put warm rhubarb sauce on a slice of bread and then poured cream over the top. Yummy. My mouth waters thinking about it.  Our neighbors often wanted our rhubarb, which Mother would give them, but when she found out they were making it into wine, she refused to give them any more. (She didn’t believe something so good should be wasted on something so bad)!  I never heard of a rhubarb cake though, so I was intrigued.

AN EXPERIMENT Wild Blackberries

With an abundance of wild blackberries, over a gallon-and-a-half worth, looking me in the eye when I returned home, I decided to spruce up this recipe. I added the blackberries to the cut-up rhubarb, added one teaspoon of cinnamon and a half teaspoon of nutmeg, along with the one cup of sugar the recipe called for. This mixture is layered on top of the yellow cake batter (mixed as directed). I found it was very simple to make. Delicious, too.

THE GOOD PART

Here’s the good part (don’t even count calories from this point on).  Pour one cup (1/2 pint) heavy whipping cream over the fruit mixture.  I wanted more custard on the bottom, so I beat two eggs in with the cream. When the cake bakes, the rhubarb/blackberry/custard combination sinks to the bottom. When serving, flip it over like an upside-down cake to reveal a rich custard filled with fruit on the bottom.

Serve the cake with a dollop of whipped cream, and sink into heaven. Enjoy. It melts in your mouth. Yummm..

THE RECIPE

  • Mix one box of yellow cake mix as directed. (I used margarine instead of oil to make it even WP_20150707_12_47_32_Proricher).
  • Pour cake mix into 9.5 x 12 pan – no need to coat or flour bottom.
  • Dice 5-6 cups of raw rhubarb (frozen works too). Add other fruit such as blackberries or raspberries if desired.
  • Mix 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg with fruit
  • Layer fruit mixture on top of cake batter
  • Beat 2 eggs and add 1 cup of heavy whipping cream
  • Pour egg/cream mixture over fruit
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean
  • Serve warm or cold with whipped cream, ice cream, or plain

WP_20150707_12_47_20_Pro

